The Making Of Harry Potter

One year ago today, I went to one of the most magical places in the world. Anyone who, like me, grew up with these most amazing books will understand the gravity of being at this place. This isn’t the theme park in the castle, this isn’t the rides and the disney-esque feel. This is it. This is Harry Potter. That isn’t me saying I don’t desperately want to go to the Wizarding World in Orlanda because I do, so so much. The studios though, they feel connected to the story, far more than the theme park ever will; because this was where my favourite books in the world came to life.

In this, I made a point to talk about my visit, and not proclaim from the high heavens that YOU NEED TO VISIT THIS AMAZING PLACE because I know that some people can’t or don’t want to. Maybe you didn’t like the films, maybe you thought they were too unlike the books, or missed big things out. I will say now that if you love Harry Potter, if, like me, he shaped your childhood and made you the person you are today, it doesn’t matter about your feelings towards the films, because everything just looks right.The Mirror of Erised had the carving over the pane. The Gryffindor common room is as cosy and threadbare as it should be, The Burrow looks like the kind of kitchen you could live in, Hagrid’s hut looks hust like it should do. Everything is there. The essence of the books is in this place. Go. Experience it. If you can, you should. Trust me when I say it is so worth it.

I have been lucky enough to visit the studios twice. I promise on the anniversary of the second time I went there won’t be a post pretty much identical to this. Unfortunately, and very upsettingly, I have lost the pictures from my first visit. I admit to getting quite upset. The second lot are amazing, but the first time is the one of my most treasured memories. These are only a selection of the many many photos I took whilst wandering around the incredible space. The camera I had at the time was awful so I do apologise for the quality of some of these. The second time I went was in December. The snow and all the Christmas decorations were astounding. There were so many photos. So so many…

I don’t want to do a walkthrough of the studios because if you haven’t been and are planning to go, the mystery of walking through that door is a very special feeling. You don’t know, not really, what you’re going to see on the other side. You don’t know what’s here. Let me tell you one thing though. Everything is there. You can see everything. You can walk through Harry Potter and be there. It is a truly magical place.

So, my visit – or the first one. I got the ticket to the studios for my 19th birthday. As my brother was also getting one for his, I had to wait two months before I could get really excited, and since his birthday was six days before we went, I had to fit two months of crazy excitement into less than a week. I live near York and the studios are very near London. We had a time slot to go in at half past nine. We left my house at half past four. As someone who cannot sleep in the car and got to act as a pillow for my friend, I can safely say it wasn’t the most pleasant journey. But I didn’t care. I wouldn’t have been able to sleep anyway. We were going to Harry Potter. It brought back memories of going to the midnight releases of the books and opening day cinema trips. It had been so long since I had had that feeling, I relished it. Since it was mine and my brother’s “birthday” we got badges. Harry Potter birthday badges!!! Everyone says happy birthday to you, it’s wonderful. Anyway, because it was our “birthday” WE GOT TO OPEN THE DOORS TO THE GREAT HALL!! THE GREAT HALL YOU GUYS!! I can safely say that was the most exciting thing that has ever happened to me… well, maybe getting an A in maths but THIS WAS EVEN BETTER THAN THAT! I SAW THE GREAT HALL FIRST! IT WAS ALL THERE! I didn’t care that I was 19, or that I may have pushed two small children out of the way so I could be first into the Great Hall, it was the Great Hall. Try and stop me from getting in there first.

There is one point in the tour. One point that surpasses everything. That is more amazing than the rest of it combined. You go round a corner, after one of the lovely people who work there say you’re nearly done and you feel rather sad, and there is only one thing in the room. Going round that corner and seeing it, I’m not going to lie to you, I teared up. There were actual tears coming down my face. My mum nearly screamed. Because it isn’t like seeing everything that was inside, it isn’t like seeing the costumes, and the wands, and the creatures. It’s home.


2 thoughts on “The Making Of Harry Potter

Leave a comment